Exchange 2007 Enterprise SP1 IMAP service, load is 100%

If you have problem, that your IMAP service on Exchange 2007 sp1
is taking 100% of your CPU’s, you must check it up how many items your users have in their folders/inbox.

The problem is, when user click on folder which have a large numbers of items in folder such as 300.000 and more, and then run some filtering or rule-ing in that folder.

In our organization Microsoft.exchange.imap4.exe service load 100% CPU on our quad-core maschine, and you must restart the imap4.exe service.

I now, that Microsoft recommends max. items per folder to max. 20,000 with Exchange 2007 server, but maybe you will have this problem sometime.

If you want to check how many items have some users, you can simply open the exchange management shell (Powershell) and type;

Get-Mailbox | Get-MailboxFolderStatistics | Where {$_.ItemsInFolder -gt 20000} | fl identity, itemsinfolder

This will prompt any user in your org, that have more than 20.000 items in any folder, trash, inbox,…

You will get something like that;

Identity : yourdomain.local/Users/Sales/Franz Kafka\Inbox

ItemsInFolder : 35851

Identity : yourdomain.local/Users/Sales/John Derre\Trash

ItemsInFolder : 50851

and so on…

This affect only IMAP users not MAPI based clients (Outlook).

More than 40.000 – 50.000 items is problem in our exchange organization.(IMAP users!)

You can limit this by some policy of folders,…

Also exmon is very good tool for exchange mailbox server role;
http://www.msexchange.org/tutorials/Microsoft-Exchange-Server-User-Monitor.html

With exmon you can check in real time witch user is getting a lot of % cpu and then check his mailbox.

End

25 thoughts on “Exchange 2007 Enterprise SP1 IMAP service, load is 100%

  1. Howdy I am so grateful I found your blog, I really found you by
    error, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now
    and would just like to say kudos for a marvelous
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  2. When I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I receive four emails with
    the same comment. There has to be a means you can remove me from that service?
    Many thanks!

  3. Ahaa, its fastidious discussion about this article here at this web site, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this place.

  4. Simply want to say your article is as surprising.

    The clarity in your post is just excellent and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  5. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i am satisfied to show that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I such a lot surely will make sure to do not forget this web site and give it a look regularly.

  6. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it
    for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. cheers

  7. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?

    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

